Who We Are


In 1973, there were a total of fifteen African American lawyers practicing in the Austin area. That year a number of those lawyers came together to organize a support group for the African American attorneys to address issues that were essential to their legal and professional development and to address the lack of opportunities which existed at the time. In 1979, the support group formally became the Austin Black Lawyers Association. Since this humble beginning, ABLA has grown significantly and is now an affiliate organization of the State Bar of Texas consisting of lawyers within Austin and its surrounding communities.

As a growing organization for almost four decades, the ABLA has been at the forefront of Austin’s legal community. Our members are represented in every facet of the legal community as elected and appointed officials, educators, government attorneys and members of law firms of all sizes. We serve our community with our involvement in a multitude of community and service based projects, such as legal and educational projects and our scholarship programs. We provide leadership, commitment and dedication through service by our members, which enable us to positively impact Austin and the surrounding communities

Prior Presidents

Ayeola Williams
April Griffin
Robyn Fletcher
Hon. Rudy Metayer
Kameron Johnson
Hon. Eric Shepperd
Brian Jammer
Karen Kennard
Linda K. VonQuintus
Linda Sorrells
Gary Cobb
Hon. Velva Price
Hon. Lora Livingston
Arthur Walker
Andrea Bryant
Bobby Taylor
John F. McCormick
Monica Ingram

Thank you sponsors

Platinum  sponsors
Judge Karin Crump
Justice Chari Kelly
Judge Jan Soifer
Hon. Velva L. Price
Hon. Rudy Metayer
Graves Daugherty Hearon & Moody
McGinnis Lochridge
The Carlson Law Firm
Pirkey Barber PLLC
Sylvia Hardman Dingle
Gary Cobb
Gold  sponsors
Robynn Fletcher
Johnathan Stone
Milbrey E. Raney
Aden Allen
Mark Sampson
April Griffin
Ayeola Williams
Tracy McCormack
Deborah Pickens
Dominque McLeggan
Michael Roberts
Kenneth Owens
Johari Williams
Deborah Thomas
Laurie Eiserloh
Cece Onyenekwu
Mishell Kneeland
Kennon Wooten
Sedora Jefferson
Judith Amaning
Kimbrough Legal, PLLC
Law Office of Dee Dee C. McKee, PLLC
Marilyn Poole Attorney at Law PLLC
Judge Tanisa Bernard
Judge Sylvia Holmes
Judge Wilford Flowers
Judge Lora Livingston
Sliver  sponsors
No items found.

By Laws and Constitution

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Nullam bibendum elementum pretium ultrices quam mauris id odio.